The best rowing machines at a glance
Three rowers made this list, and they divide cleanly by what you want the machine to do.
Concept2 RowErg: best overall. $990 with standard legs, air flywheel, 96 by 24 in. assembled, 500 lb rating on Concept2's own test, 38 in. inseam limit, no subscription, 5-year frame warranty. Overall 9.1 out of 10 by our arithmetic.
WaterRower Original Oak: best for a shared living room. $1,199 with standard rails, water-tank resistance, 82.25 in. long, stores upright in 20 by 22.25 in., solid oak, 5-year frame and 3-year parts warranty. Overall 8.2.
Hydrow Wave: best for guided classes. $1,995 plus a $50 monthly membership, electromagnetic resistance, 80 by 19 in., 16 in. touchscreen, 375 lb limit, 30-day home trial. Overall 8.1.
If you are torn between the first two, our Concept2 RowErg vs WaterRower comparison sets their spec sheets side by side line for line.
All prices and figures were read on each maker's own site on October 21, 2026, and will move.
How we picked these three
We shortlisted rowers that publish a full specification table, a warranty statement and a US price on their own website. That requirement alone removed most of the market.
Five criteria decided the order.
Published limits. A rower that will not say how much user weight it takes, or how long an inseam it fits, is a worse purchase for a tall or heavy buyer regardless of how it feels. Concept2 publishes both, with two test standards named.
Total cost over three years, not sticker price. A subscription changes the ranking. By our arithmetic from Hydrow's own figures, the Wave costs $2,595 in year one and $3,795 over three years, against $1,045 delivered for a Concept2 RowErg in the lower 48.
Warranty and returns in writing. We counted the years, read the exclusions and noted who pays return shipping.
Floor area in use and in storage. Both numbers matter, and only Concept2 publishes a recommended clearance rectangle.
What each maker's own ratings show. Concept2 displayed 4.9 from 264 reviews on October 21, 2026. Hydrow and NOHRD showed no rating or count for these models on the pages we read, so we weight owner feedback lightly throughout.
We did not test any of these machines. Our spec-sheet explainer sets out the same reading method applied to any piece of equipment.
Best overall: Concept2 RowErg
The RowErg wins because nothing else here does the basics as cheaply or as transparently.
Price first. Concept2 lists $990 with standard legs and $1,155 with tall legs, plus $55 or $85 ground shipping to the lower 48 states.
Delivered, that is $1,045 for the standard model by our arithmetic, and the page marks the machine as HSA/FSA eligible through a third-party service.
The PM5 monitor records time, distance, pace and stroke rate and costs nothing to keep.
Concept2 says it runs partly on flywheel power to extend the life of its two D-cell batteries, feeds a free Online Logbook and connects to ErgData plus more than 40 other apps.
Limits are the quiet advantage. The specification table gives 500 lb maximum user weight as tested by Concept2, footnotes 300 lb as tested to EN 20957-7, and sets the monorail inseam limit at 38 in.
Buyers past that are told to contact Concept2 about an extra-long rail.
Warranty runs five years on frame parts and two years on moving parts and the monitor, with a 30-day money-back guarantee on factory-direct US and Canada orders. Return shipping is the buyer's cost.
The trade-offs are physical. Assembled, the machine is 96 in. long, the longest here, and Concept2 recommends 9 by 4 ft of clear floor in use. It separates into two pieces without tools, but that is a storage step rather than a fold.
Air resistance is audible and Concept2 publishes no decibel figure, so we print none.
Read the full Concept2 RowErg review for the specification table line by line.
Best for a shared living room: WaterRower Original Oak
The Original Oak is the answer to a problem the Concept2 cannot solve: a rower that has to share a room with a sofa.
NOHRD's US store lists $1,199 with standard rails and $1,249 with XL rails. The product page did not state a shipping figure in the sections we read, so we cannot give a delivered total.
Resistance is a sealed water tank with a paddle flywheel and no settings. Effort sets resistance, which means nothing to learn and nothing to adjust. NOHRD markets the sound of water and minimal noise; like the other two makers, it publishes no decibel rating.
Storage is the headline. NOHRD says the machine stands upright with the water still in the tank, occupying 20 by 22.25 in. of floor. In use it is 82.25 in. long, about 14 in. shorter than the Concept2.
The frame is solid oak, built by WaterRower Inc. in Warren, Rhode Island. Warranty is five years on the frame and three years on parts, stated to include commercial use, which is a year longer on parts than Concept2 gives.
Two marks against it. The product page lists maximum user weight as 330 lb in one table and 700 lb in another, with no explanation, so a heavier buyer cannot tell which figure applies.
And the seat sits 9 in. off the floor, the lowest here; NOHRD sells a $150 HiRise Adaptor but does not state the resulting height.
Upkeep is water treatment rather than chain oil: NOHRD's FAQ calls for purification tablets on a schedule, and two Puritabs plus a pump ship in the box. The full WaterRower Original Oak review covers the warranty wording and the contradictory tables.
Best for guided classes: Hydrow Wave
The Wave earns its place for one reason: some people will only train with an instructor, a schedule and a screen.
Hydrow lists the rower at $1,995, with bundles on the same page putting the rower at $1,895 to $1,935 when a membership is included.
The membership is $50 per month per household, which is $600 a year by our arithmetic, and it is what unlocks the class library Hydrow says runs past 6,000 titles. A Just Row mode works without it.
The hardware is the most apartment-friendly here on footprint: 80 by 19 by 43 in., the narrowest of the three. Resistance is electromagnetic, which Hydrow describes as its quietest, with no fan and no water.
The display is a 16 in. 1920 by 1080 touchscreen, and the machine runs from a 120 V outlet at 190 W peak and 27 W average.
Hydrow's 30-day home trial with free pickup and a full refund is the most generous return offer in this group, and shipping is free, listed at a $200 value.
The costs are real. Three years of ownership comes to $3,795 by our arithmetic, against $1,045 delivered for a Concept2. The weight limit is 375 lb and the inseam limit 36 in., both below Concept2's figures.
The machine weighs 102 lb, and standing it up needs a $190 Vertical Anchor sold separately. Warranty is five years on the structural frame but only 12 months on components, screen, electronics and labor.
Read the full Hydrow Wave review for the membership terms and the power figures.
What a rower costs over three years
Sticker price ranks these machines in one order and total cost ranks them in another, so it is worth doing the arithmetic before choosing.
The figures below are ours, built from each maker's published prices read on October 21, 2026. They exclude tax, accessories and electricity.
- Concept2 RowErg, standard legs: $990 plus $55 shipping to the lower 48 equals $1,045 delivered. No subscription, so year three costs the same as year one.
- Concept2 RowErg, tall legs: $1,155 plus $85 shipping equals $1,240 delivered.
- WaterRower Original Oak: $1,199 at list. Shipping is not stated on the product page, so the delivered figure is unknown. Add $150 if you want the HiRise Adaptor, for $1,349.
- Hydrow Wave, year one: $1,995 plus $600 of membership equals $2,595. Add $190 for the Vertical Anchor if it has to store upright.
- Hydrow Wave, three years: $1,995 plus $1,800 of membership equals $3,795, or about 3.6 times the delivered cost of a Concept2.
- The gap that matters: the Hydrow's membership alone costs more over three years than a whole Concept2 RowErg delivered to your door.
Also compared: what did not make the list
We looked past these three and stopped for specific documentation reasons rather than taste.
Magnetic rowers under $500. The category is large, cheap and mostly sold without a published specification table on a manufacturer's own site.
Several of the best-known names sell only through retailers, which means the load rating, warranty and return terms we grade on come from a shop rather than the maker. We will add one when we find a brand that publishes its own figures.
Hybrid water rowers from furniture brands. Several sell a water rower with a wooden frame at prices near the WaterRower's. The ones we opened did not publish a maximum user weight, which is the first number a heavier buyer needs.
Full-size commercial ergs. Club machines exist with longer parts warranties, but they are priced and sized for a facility, and the household version of the same frame is usually the RowErg already at #1.
Treadmills and walking pads. Not rowers, but the same floor space.
If cardio is the goal and 8 ft of clear floor is not available, our WalkingPad folding treadmill review covers a machine that slides under a sofa, and the small-space home gym guide compares footprints across categories.
How to choose a rowing machine
Four questions settle this purchase faster than any feature list.
Will the machine live out, or must it disappear? If it must disappear daily, the WaterRower's upright 20 by 22.25 in. footprint is the strongest answer, since the tank does not need draining.
The Concept2 splits in two without tools; the Hydrow needs a $190 accessory to stand up.
Who is using it? Over 375 lb, or an inseam near 38 in., and the Concept2 is the only one of the three whose published figures clear you. Under 5 ft or over 6 ft 6 in., check each maker's limit before you buy.
Will you train without an instructor? Answer honestly. A $1,045 Concept2 that gets used beats a $2,595 Hydrow that does not, and the reverse is also true.
Who else is in the house? Air resistance is the loudest mechanism here, water is quieter, and electromagnetic is quietest by its maker's description. None of the three publishes a decibel figure, so treat all three claims as mechanism, not measurement.
If you have knee or hip pain and are choosing rowing because it is low impact, talk to a clinician before you spend. Seat height is the practical lever: 20 in. on the tall-leg Concept2, 14 in. on the standard, 9 in. on the WaterRower.
What to put in the room with it
A rower is conditioning, not strength, so a rowing-only home gym leaves half the work undone.
Adjustable dumbbells cover the strength side in a fraction of the floor area; the Bowflex SelectTech 552 review and our adjustable dumbbells vs kettlebells comparison cover that choice.
Add a bench and you have a full upper-body setup, which the adjustable weight bench guide ranks on published capacity and warranty.
For bodyweight work in no floor space at all, a TRX suspension trainer hangs from a door. For recovery after long pieces, the TriggerPoint GRID foam roller is the cheapest useful addition.
If you want heart-rate data alongside the monitor, all three machines pair with a chest strap or watch; the Garmin Forerunner 55 review covers a low-cost option.
Plan the floor around the rower first. At 8 by 2 ft for the machine alone, the Concept2 is the largest single item on that list.
Bottom line
Buy the Concept2 RowErg unless you have a specific reason not to.
At $990 list and $1,045 delivered to the lower 48 as of October 2026, it is the cheapest of the three, publishes the clearest limits, carries a five-year frame warranty and never charges a subscription for its monitor or app.
Buy the WaterRower Original Oak if the rower will live in a room people relax in. It costs $209 more, stores upright without draining and has no fan, and its three-year parts warranty is the longest here.
Before ordering, ask NOHRD which of its two published user-weight figures applies to your body.
Buy the Hydrow Wave only if a screen and a schedule are what will get you on the machine.
It is the most expensive to buy at $1,995 and the only one with a $50 monthly fee attached to its main content, and its electronics are covered for 12 months.
Its 30-day home trial with free pickup lowers the risk of finding that out the hard way.
None of the three makers publishes a noise measurement, and we have not tested any of them. Everything above is read from their own pages on October 21, 2026.
Community discussion
Tried any of these tools? Tell us which one worked best for you.